Kackson’s Lodge and Log Cabin Village is a destination of going-back-in-time to a Vermont lakeside resort built in the 1920s. A restful experience where you can disconnect, find peacefulness, and enjoy our natural environment – quiet roads & trails, pristine lakes & rivers, sandy beach, moose, eagles & loons, amazing sunsets over the lake, enchanting beachside campfires, and brilliant star-gazing. Keeping in the “family tradition” that has always made Jackson’s the special place it is, Jackson’s Café is a renowned country-style breakfast venue reminiscent of the mid 1950s showcasing original dining room memorabilia and stewarding an atmosphere from Jackson’s Lodge early bygone days.
About the Owner
In 1926, a local Customs Officer, Harry Marshall, built, on the eastern shore of Lake Wallace in the town of Canaan Vermont, what we know today as Jackson’s Lodge and Log Cabins. Harry, not surprisingly, named his business “The Marshall Camps.”
The Marshall Camps offered fishermen and their families rest and relaxation while they enjoyed some of the best trout fishing in all of New England. This postcard postmarked in 1936 demonstrates that one part of the property was home to “Marshall’s Tavern, Lake Wallis, VT.”
Also, while The Marshall Camps were in operation, the section of Vermont Route 114 that crosses over Harriman Hill today did not exist. As evidenced by the 1928 map of Canaan below, the shortest route to the village of Canaan from Lake Wallace was actually down the dirt road that is now Jackson Lodge Road and into Canada. This road connected to what is now Route 141 in Canada, and then crossed back into the United States where the Canaan Customs and Border Protection port of entry sits today.
In 1958 Elmont Jackson, a logger and land owner in the area, purchased the Marshall property with the intent of providing a family business to be run by his wife, Audrey (Gemmell) Jackson, originally from Lennoxville, Quebec, and their children. Elmont and Audrey had six daughters who all had a hand in running “Jackson’s Lodge and Log Cabin Village” for close to three decades.